I love it when the simplest ingredients make the best treats. Only another baker could understand the beauty and satisfaction of joining together butter, sugar, flour and eggs and get something amazing. Throw in a couple of add-ins and you have perfection.

And I have a confession to make. I live blondies better than brownies. I love chocolate, dark, intense and in large quantities, but there’s something about blondies that can bring you that, PLUS the milder, more caramely, vanilla flavor. Is a perfect marriage. I can’t achieve that with brownies. Though, a perfect brownie is ALWAYS welcome.

And so, for my friends yesterday I made Chocolate Covered Peanut Blondies. Just because I love crunch in blondies and peanuts and chocolate go wonderfully together. Everyone RAVED about this. They disappeared so fast I could barely take pictures of this. Also, they were so fast and easy to make. If you don’t like nuts in your baked good you can leave them out or use something else, anything works here, seriously and you can top them with white chocolate or caramel or peanut butter or, if I had had some, I would have used Sour Cream & Brown Sugar Chocolate Ganache. Mmmmm.

My pickiest friend loved these. Just cause they were chewy, soft and buttery, with the crunchy contrast of the peanuts and the decadence of the melted chocolate on top. I used dark chocolate cause that’s what I use in pretty much everything and I think is the best way to go, but feel free to change it according to your tastes.

Chocolate-Covered Peanut Blondies

Recipe by me.

1/2 cup of butter

1 1/2 cups of brown sugar

1 1/2 cups of AP flour

2 eggs

1 teaspoon of vanilla

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup + 1 tablespoon of peanuts (I didn’t want it to be chockfull with them. You can chop them if you want)

5 oz of dark chocolate, roughly chopped (or any other chocolate or topping you might want)

Preheat the oven at 350°. Grease and flour an 8 x 8 baking pan.

Melt the butter in a pan and let it brown (Click here if you don’t know how to brown butter) After that, transfer all of it to a medium bowl and let it cool slightly. Dump in the brown sugar and  (stand mixer or hand mixer are best, but you can always do it by hand) beat until fluffier and lighter in color. Beat in the eggs, one at the time, beating well after each addition. Mix in vanilla extract.  Add in flour, baking powder and salt (you could sift this but I almost never do) and mix until just combined. Add the peanuts or any other add ins you want and mix to distribute them evenly.

Pour the batter in the pan and bake for about 25 minutes. Check earlier just in case. Take them out and cover it with the chopped chocolate. Let it sit to melt and then spread evenly on top of the  blondies. Cool before cutting into them.

These babies will make your day better. Meanwhile…

Get into this band. Is in my top 3 favorite bands of all times. Don’t believe in labels, they are not what most people think they are. They sound incredible and this song is gorgeous. Beautiful lyrics.

Thanks all for reading!

