Who can name that song? I’ll give you one of these if you can! trust me, you’ll want one. I don’t know why I never made truffles before, is the easiest thing on earth! And chocolate ganache being my favorite thing EVER, you’ll think I would have thought of it. Maybe is because I eat all of it before it has time to set? Okay I know, that is it. But I managed some control this time and ended up with these beauties. I love them. I want to eat them for lunch. But I want my mom to try them so I’ll save them..okay this is hard…

So, my FAVORITE candy ever is Peanut butter cups. And you know what? I’ve only tried it 2 times in my whole life. Still, I know is my favorite and I’m sticking to it. They don’t sell it here *cries desperately*. I’m okay, I’m okay. But before that, my favorite since I was a kid was Mounds. That delicious chocolate-covered coconut creamy filling. You know what? they don’t sell it here anymore either. I might as well stop living. Or something less dramatic? Anyway, a few months ago I tried my first Almond Joy and I fell in love. Just like Mounds, PLUS almonds? heaven!

But you know what? that Almond joy would be my first and last. To this day, I can no longer find it. I know, my life is filled with chocolate-covered disappointments. At least I have the chocolate-covered part? And at least I have these Almond Joy Truffles. And they’re vegan too! (I didn’t exactly had vegan chocolate, but you can use it if you can find it)ย  Also, gluten free, but aren’t all truffles gluten free? Anyway, these are amazing. You can feel good about eating them. Healthy fats, antioxidants and small portions. Plus, the psychological satisfaction of eating a creamy, dreamy, crunchy chocolate dessert ๐Ÿ˜€

They tasted just like almond joy bars! without all those bad-for-you ingredients and super easy! I covered some with cocoa, other with finally sheddered coconut and dipped the rest in chocolate and sprinkled with sea salt. Those were, by far, the bests. I made the truffles with bittersweet chocolate and used semi-sweet for the coating, the perfect contrast. If you like sweeter treats, you can add some powdered sugar. I found these sweet enough. Please don’t skip the salt! You’ll love it, I promise!

Vegan Almond Joy Truffles w/ Sea Salt

Recipe by me.

8 ounces ofย  bittersweet chocolate (use vegan if you need to)

1/2 cup of full-fat coconut milk

1/3 cup of finely shredded coconut (if you only find shaved coconut, you can “grate” it in the food-processor)

1/3 cup of chopped almonds

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

a small pinch fo salt

Optional coatings:

Semi-sweet chocolate

Cocoa

Finely shredded coconut

Sea salt

In a double boiler or microwave, melt the chocolate and the coconut milk. Be careful not to burn it. Just heat enough so all the chocolate melts. Stir well until is smooth. Add the vanilla, coconut and chopped almonds. Stir to blend all. Allow to cool, then place in the fridge for about 2 hours (it can go longer, even over-night) Remove from the fridge and with a small spoon, roll out balls of the ganache. Roll quickly between your hands (it will melt in your hands if you take too long) to form a uniform ball. Now, if you’re organized and have time, you could place all the balls on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and place in the refrigerator overnight. But if you’re a mess like me, you can skip that and go directly to the coating step.

Melt the semi-sweet chocolate (if using) and place all your different coatings in different plates. Drop the truffles one by one in one of the coatings and roll it around with a fork to make sure is totally covered. Take it out and place on the baking sheet lines with parchment paper. If you like, sprinkle a little of sea salt on top of each truffle. Place in the refrigerator to firm up for a while and take out when ready to serve.

Everyone will love these! and they look totally cute and fancy too ๐Ÿ˜‰

By the way, the song is, of course, Drive by Incubus. Great song by a great band. Thanks all for reading, you guys make my day ๐Ÿ˜€

