Oh I know. I know most of you are entering fall mode now and talk about ice cream and strawberries is kind of silly for you now. But I never get good strawberries here. NEVER. Keep in mind we don’t have seasons so is a little crazy and all over the place. So I was incredibly happy when my mom bought these pretty strawberries. Not the most gorgeous, red and juicy ever, but pretty decent for this place. And I knew they were meant to be something bigger then themselves. Woah, did it work…

I present to you Cardamom & Vanilla Strawberry Jam. This is one, if not the, most fragrant things I have ever made. I always thought cardamom was just for savory dishes, until I fell in love with the idea of a cardamom ice cream. So I bought lovely, organic cardamom pods until I decided to do something cool with them. I didn’t know they could work so well in sweets. They’re so perfect for it. They scent is indescribable and with vanilla…oh dear. You will love this. Promise.

I should tell you that I am not so sure this could be called a jam. See, the thing is that all the recipes for cardamom strawberry jam called for ground cardamom but I wanted to use my lovely, beautiful pods. I wanted to infuse them into something. So first I placed the berries and vanilla sugar in a colander, to let them release their juices. And mean while -oh yes I did it, I went there- I browned a little butter along with the cardamom to give it that wonderful aroma. You know you like it 😉

Don’t hate, is just a little butter, I swear. After the butter had browned and the berries released enough juices, I poured the juices in the brown butter and let the cardamom infuse for a while longer. Then I threw in the slightly mashed berries and cooked them down a bit and that’s it! This was simply gorgeous. Just on a warm toast with a little (more) butter. But You’ll see what I really used this for later on 😉

Cardamom & Vanilla Strawberry Jam

Recipe by me.

Keep in mind this is a small batch, is easy to double or triple.

1 1/2 cups of strawberries, hulled.

1/2 cup of sugar

1 tablespoon of butter (I used salted, if not, I’d recommend adding a pinch of salt)

1 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla extract (use vanilla bean if you can, not possible here, but would be wonderful)

8 green cardamom pods (or use 1/2 teaspoon of ground cardamom, it might be a bit stronger)

First, you need a big colander to fit all the berries in. Place it over a medium sized bowl to catch the juices. Pu the berries in the colander with the sugar and vanilla. Mix them to cover all the berries and let them soften for a while.

Meanwhile, in a medium pot, throw the butter and break open the cardamom pods, releasing the beans. Only the beans go into the pot with the butter. Now over medium heat, start melting the butter. It will be a while before it starts to brown so go back to the berries.

With a fork, mash them slightly (you still want a few chunks) and let them soften further. Now check on the butter. When is beautifully browned, take it off the heat and add the juice you collected from the berries. Return to heat and give it a stir. Let cook for 5 minutes and then strain the syrup to catch the cardamom beans. Return to the pot and add the crushed berries. Stir and let it cook on low heat for about 15 minutes, until thick.

Since I was using it right away, I didn’t can it, but if you’re going to, here’s a great guide (and recipe!) for the process.

It would go great on vanilla ice cream or some cheesecake! Oh wow, that’s an idea! Either way enjoy it, by the spoonful 😉 I allow it!

Have a great day everyone!

