Did I tell you that my brother wants to be a chef? He is pretty convinced. When I was 15 I had no idea of what I wanted for my life (Yeah, like now I do) But still, you can imagine how happy that makes me! He wants to help me in the kitchen and learn and I help him when he cooks too. But we like to make different things…he is all about savory and I’m ALL about sweets. That makes my family pretty happy because they get main course and dessert without lifting a finger.

I’m not very good with savory dishes (only salads and dips) so now I’m writing down everything my brother does cause wow, it seems like he really knows what he’s doing. He made this for lunch yesterday and I was in awe. He is going to be an amazing chef.

My mom and dad always made us curry-everything growing up, so we both love it. He didn’t follow any recipe for this dish, he just went with what he thought would taste good. Since he just throws everything in there,  like a good maniac baker, I had to be running around behind him, measuring things so I could write down a recipe. That’s why I couldn’t take any pictures of the process, but it was well worth it.

We’re used to spice and my family LOVES garlic, so that might seem like a big amount to you (and it is) but definitely adjust.

This is usually served with plain white rice (I’ve had it with a peanut-coriander rice that’s out of this world, I hope to share that recipe with you soon) because it has a mild flavor so the chicken is really the star. But we had it with broccoli because well, we’re on a diet (Yeah, can’t you tell from all the other recipes on this site? Duh)

Honey Curry Chicken

Recipe by: My brother.

4 TBSP of olive oil

5 cloves of garlic, finely chopped (add or take)

3 onions, roughly chopped

3 TBSP of finely chopped ginger

3 medium chicken breasts, diced

1 cup of sour cream*

1 cup yogurt*

2 Heaping TBSP of good quality curry

3 TBSP of honey

Salt and pepper to season

Heat the oil in high heat and when is hot enough, add the onions, garlic and ginger to sauté for a while. Stir every other while to make sure they don’t burn. Once they start to brown, add the curry and mix well. When the curry gets in contact with the hot oil and the onion’s juices, it develops to the max all of its flavor and fragrance. Kind of like when you pour hot water over tea. So let it cook there for a minute or 2. Throw the diced chicken in the pan to seal it and crisp up the outside, cause once the cream and/or yogurt is added, this won’t happen.

When the chicken is golden and pretty, add the cream and yogurt and lower the heat to medium-high. Stir everything together to combine and let it bubble. If the sauce starts to boil too much and jump out of the pan, lower the heat further. You want to let this thicken up for a while, about 10 to 15 minutes. When you see a consistency you like, season with salt and pepper to your liking and finally add the honey. We like a really strong sweet and spicy contrast, but you can adjust the honey/garlic/curry ratio to your liking.

*Note: You can play with the amounts of sour cream and yogurt, for a creamier dish, use all sour cream. Same, for a lighter one, use all yogurt or mix and match as you’d like.

I added a dollop of cream over the top just for the presentation of the pictures. I soo didn’t eat it after that. Again, we’re on a diet. I swear.

