I don’t know if I told you, but sometimes I go a litte crazy and decide that too much sugar and butter and white flour cant be good for the health (oh wait, that isn’t the crazy side?) and so I decide to try something a little lighther for the benefit of my…well, everything.

I found this cake at Sugar Plum. The combination seemed magic…the mild flavor of ricotta to moisten, the deep toasted almonds to add texture (and nutrition!), the sweet zing of the orange and the complexity and satisfaction of luscious dark chocolate…it was a winner in my book! And I could enjoy it guilt free even if I ate 5 pieces right? No?… my bad then, maybe my crazy moments aren’t so crazy after all.

The batter came together in minutes, so thick and creamy…I was ready to be healthy with it and a spoon…but my family didnt think it was a good idea…damn for sharing…

The recipe originally calls for unsweetened chocolate, and even though I had a really good quality one on hand, I decided to use bittersweet 70% cause the flavor is out of this world and I was a little scared the cake would turn out a little bland you know? I loved the result! If you try it with unsweetened chocolate let me know how it turns out!

You should really keep a close eye on the baking time on this one, you do NOT want to overbake this one. Other than that, is incredibly easy and well worth the time. I covered it in a light chocolate glaze and I decorated it with orange skin (: I think it looks pretty neat!

Chocolate Orange Ricotta Torte

Recipe From: Sugar Plum

1 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup very finely chopped almonds, toasted
1 cup ricotta cheese (I used part-skim)
1 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon finely grated orange zest
2 large eggs
1/4 cup fresh orange juice
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 ounces unsweetened chocolate, melted

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease and flour a 9-inch cake pan.

In a medium bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt; whisk in almonds until combined. In a large mixing bowl, using a mixer on medium speed, beat together ricotta cheese, sugar, and orange zest until well combined – about 1-2 minutes. Beat in eggs, orange zest, orange juice, and vanilla until well combined, about 1 minute. Reduce mixer speed to low and beat in dry ingredients until just combined. Beat in melted chocolate until combined.

Scrape batter evenly into prepared pan. Bake for 30-35 minutes or until set. Cool on a wire rack for 1 hour before slicing.

Makes 8 servings

And I give you this…

