Hi. Is me. You wont remember me cause we barely met, but I’m here to tell you that is so hard to forget you that I’ve decided to come back and make it work. For the best.

I started a bakeblog when I was 16, in blogspot and with the same name. I was in a very complicated situation with school and traveling around a lot, and it was hard for me to really post. I had even made a few blog friends but I’m afraid I lost them all. I know.

But I just cant help it. Having a blog, baking and talking to you is everything I can think of. So I’ve decided to give it another try for real this time. Bakeblogs inspire me and I just want my own. Even if my dad is my only reader (Hi Hector! thanks for sending the link to my blog to all your friends) So I’m starting afresh, giving you all I’ve got. Literally.

I think cookies is the way to go for this one. Even if you dont really want to read this blog, you will accept me a cookie right? Oh, chocolate chip is your favorite? what a coincidence…

That’s exactly what I brought!

These cookies are brilliant, incredibly soft and chewy. I think I underbaked mine for a couple of minutes but I like them that way. You can leave them a while more and they’ll start to crisp up in the borders. My friends all loved these, though, some didn’t like the fact that I used all dark chocolate cause that’s how I roll, but perhaps for some people semi-sweet or a combination would be best. I’m thinking nuts in these would be wonderful, specially hazelnuts (yes, I’m a nuts-in-the-cookies kind of person)

Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies J (Adapted from A Passion for Baking by Marcy Goldman)
I got it from: Cookies with Boys
Makes 7 to 10 jumbo cookies (or about 4 dozen smaller, nice sized cookies)

1 cup unsalted butter, softened
1-1/2 cups firmly packed brown sugar
1/4 cup white sugar
1 TBSP pure vanilla extract
2 large eggs
1 egg yolk
2-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
1-1/2 cups chopped semisweet chocolate

Preheat oven to 350. Stack two baking sheets together and line the top sheet with parchment paper. Arrange oven rack to upper third of oven.

In a mixer bowl, cream butter with sugars until well blended. Add vanilla, eggs, and egg yolk. Fold in flour, baking soda, salt, chocolate chips, and chopped chocolate and blend well to make a thick batter. If batter seems soft and greasy, add 2 to 4 TBSP more flour. Dough should be soft but not too greasy or slick. You can also chill it 10 minutes if you think it has enough flour or let it stand 20 minutes. Either approach will help cookie dough “set up”.

Scoop or form balls of 7 to 8 ounces of dough (yes, weigh it!) and place on prepared baking sheets about 2 to 3 inches apart. If you don’t have a scale, use 1 cup dough per cookie; each will measure 3 inches in diameter once placed on the baking sheet. (Obviously you can only bake a few of these at a time.)

Bake 20 to 24 minutes or until cookies are nicely browned on top and just set-up looking. Remove from oven and let cool on baking sheet 15 to 20 minutes before removing.

And add milk to that. You must have milk.

This time is for real…and since I said I will give you all I’ve got here’s something so beautiful it will melt your heart. Or at leat the chocolate in your cookies.

Please…if you dont make these cookies, just watch this. And listen to it. Simple. Gorgeous. I wish I could do that.

Thank you blog, thank you readers (reader?) and thank you to all the food bloggers out there for the HUGE inspiration. Get your floured apron and let’s get going…

Ps. Do you like nuts in your cookies?

