Hello there again, welcome to the second part of this birthday cake-making. Yesterday we talked the Decoration, made out of chocolate (what else) and today I’d like yo tell you about the filling. You see, my best friend, is a very picky eater, but (oddly) she likes coconut. A lot. So I decided the cake will be filled with a delish coconut cream.

 I looked everywhere for a recipe I liked, but pretty much all of them were just heavy cream with shredded coconut stirred in. I wanted full and complete coconut flavor. Finally, I found this beautiful blog called Ravenous Couple and they had the most incredible recipe for a coconut dessert (check it out! is really original and delicious!), involving every part of the coconut! and one of the layers is a coconut cream made with actual coconut milk. I loved the recipe and decided to use it as my filling.

Is almost like a custard, and really simple to make, you don’t even have to temper the eggs. I have to tell you, this is THE most incredible coconut dessert I have ever tasted. Is so rich and creamy and thick, almost like a pudding and with pure coconut delicate flavor. I didn’t even add vanilla in hopes to obtain the purest flavor. You WANT to make this. I beg you.

I don’t remember where, but I once read that if you mix toasted coconut with milk and leave it covered in the fridge for a day, the coconut flavor is amazing. I tried it but with the half and half instead of milk and it worked! I highly recommend that step and I’m adding it below. Please, please, please make this. Even if is just to eat as a pudding. I’m guessing you could also add some sugar on top, broil it, and have a wonderful coconut creme brulee! Mmm I need to try that…I’m tempted to make another batch just for me and not the cake…

Coconut Cream

Adapted from Ravenous Couple 

Enough to fill a 3 layer 9-inch cake

1 c Half and Half
1 c coconut milk
3/4 c sugar
1/4 c cornstarch
1/4 ts kosher salt
1 ts vanilla extract (Optional, omit for pure coconut flavor)
2 eggs
1 c toasted coconut 
 
If you want to amp up the coconut flavor, mix the toasted coconut with the half and half and let it sit in the fridge, covered for a few hours, preferably, a day.
 
Add the half and half and toasted coconut mixture, coconut milk, egg, sugar, salt, vanilla extract (if using), and cornstarch in sauce pan and whisk together well. Under low heat and constant whisking, heat the mixture until it thickens to a creamy consistency. Pour in a bowl and refrigerate until cold, at least 4 hours.
 
 
Oh, and can I please you with a little music? This song and video is by Mika (this man is a freaking genius. Amazing voice) and it’s called Big Girl (You are Beautiful) and the song is bubbly, cheerful, funny and really truthful (go curves!)
 
 
It keeps well for a few days in the refrigerator, I made it 2 days before I needed it.
Tomorrow we’ll talk frosting! One of my biggest fears regarding cakes.
Do you like coconut? If you don’t, I will still recommend making this, it could transform you, is THAT good.
 
