This post was supposed to be for about 2 months ago. I know, I’m lazy. I don’t know what happened, really. But is now here and as far recipes, is one of my favorites! So, so simple and delicious. Actually, I have 2 recipes for you today. This is a Peanut Butter Duo Post. :D How exciting is that?! I can’t wait to tell you about this dead-easy recipes. I present today Peanut Butter Balls and the word’s easiest and fastest Peanut Butter Cookies. Complete with a chocolate version aswell! You’re welcome.

I love peanut butter. I LOVE peanut butter. I wanna be buried with a jar of the stuff. Unfortunately, is REALLY expensive here (would you pay 26 dollars for a jar of PB? you get the idea. No, I’m not kidding) So when I was gifted this jar, I took care of it like GOLD. I wanted to enjoy it by itself. Spoonfuls, on a piece of toast. On oatmeal once. But I had a bit leftover and wanted something a little more special so I came up with these. These are not too sweet treats, really natural and the truffles can easily be made vegan with almond milk and vegan chocolate. It satisfies that common chocolate-pb craving. Sweet and salty.

And of course, I love salt in desserts. The crunch, the way they amp up the flavor…gorgeous I tell you. My favorite thing is definitely the truffles. The crackly chocolate shell covering a creamy peanut butter-y center? Oh my…I want to have this for dessert everyday! And it can be done in just minutes. You can serve them up in your holiday table and pretend you’re fancy. Or maybe you really are. I’ll just speak for myself here…right. Oh, and the cookies and flourless. Huge plus. I love flourless treats. So I’m giving you a gluten free and a vegan recipe, how’s that for versatility? ;)

Yes, you’re reading right, 5 ingredients! 6 if you want the chocolate version and 7 if you decide to add the coarse salt on top (which I TOTALLY) recommend. Okay 7 ingredients doesn’t seem like so little, but when one is vanilla and the other salt, you can’t really count them right?

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

Recipe Adapted from Joy The Baker

1 cup all-natural chunky or smooth peanut butter

1 cup sugar (I like brown better but choose what you have)

1 egg

1 teaspoon baking soda

Few drops of vanilla extract

1 cup chocolate chips or chopped chocolate (Optional. For the chocolate version below)

Coarse or Sea salt (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease a baking sheet with butter and set aside.  In a mixer combine peanut butter and sugars until well combined, about 2 minutes.  Add egg and baking soda and mix for another 2 minutes.  Roll into walnut sized balls and create a cris-cross pattern with a fork.   Bake for 10 minutes, until lightly browned.  Cool on a baking sheet for two minutes at least.

For a chocolate version, make the dough as instructed and  melt the chocolate chips in the microwave in 20 seconds interval and then add to the dough and mix to combine completely. Bake the same way as the plain ones.

Decorate the cookies with a light sprinkling of sea salt on top.

Chocolate Dipped Peanut Butter Balls

Recipe by me

Most Peanut butter balls recipe call for tons of butter and powdered sugar. I hate this, I want to taste the peanut butter, so this is a simpler, far creamier and softer, much less sweet candy-like recipe. Natural and peanut butter-y. This is kind of like a PB ganache without the chocolate mixed in, but instead, poured on top and hardened.

1 cup natural smooth peanut butter

1/4 cup sugar (I used granulated, use powdered for a smoother result)

1/3 cup of evaporated milk (You can use heavy cream, half and half or plain milk)

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Coarse or sea salt to decorate

1 cup chocolate chips or chunks (to dip)

In a medium heat proof bowl, pour the milk or cream and sugar. Pop them in the microwave for 30 seconds and mix, trying to dissolve the sugar. The mixture should be hot, not warm. Next, add the peanut butter to the milk-sugar mixture, as well as the vanilla and stir everything together. It will be very creamy and sticky. If you think is too dry, add more milk or cream. Let the mixture cool down and stick in the fridge until completely cold, 1-2 hours.

When the mixture has hardened and cooled, melt your chocolate in the microwave or double boiler and put it aside for a moment to cool down a bit while you make the balls.

Prepare a large cookie or baking sheet with parchment paper. Take small spoonfuls of the peanut butter mixture and roll them in your hands quickly to make a ball and place on the paper. Make them as big or small as you’d like, I like mine really small. Work fast to avoid too much melting. Now, with a fork, drop the balls, one by one, in the melted chocolate and roll them around to coat. Pick it up again with the fork (not pinching it, just carrying it) and tap the fork a bit in the edge of the bowl to get rid of excess chocolate. Drop the ball again in the parchment paper and sprinkle with sea salt. Continue until you’re done with all the balls and place them in the fridge to harden. 10-15 minutes is okay, but they will have a better texture in 30 minutes.

Enjoy! I’m off to send my picture to Tastespotting (Hope they’ll take it!)

Ps. I have no idea why I chose that tittle. Those words just spoke to me.

Thanks for reading!

