I’ve been a little absent lately. I’m sorry for that. Is just that I’m trying to cut down on sweets. I’ve been baking a lot and my family is mad at me for making them eat that. Okay I don’t actually make them, but they say that they have no self restrain so if there are sweets, they’re just going to eat it. Anyway…I understand so I’m trying to be a little bit healthier. Hey! I made Crunchy Spiced Sweet Potato Fries! that is healthy right? right.

They’re baked actually. And with just a touch of olive oil to make everything come together. I loved the crunchiness, about 15 minutes out of the oven they were perfect. Sadly, they don’t last much…after a while they start becoming soggy. Don’t get m wrong, I loved them anyway, but is not what everyone likes. And these make a healthy and filling snack as well as an awesome side dish. I just love sweet potatoes so much more than regular ones. And my brother devoured these in no time flat!. A complete success.

They are perfect alone, but I seriously adore my mom’s garlic mayo. Seriously, You have no idea how good that mayo is. I eat it with everything every single day.  I’ll post that recipe later this week. Also, maybe is just me, but I also loved them with Dijon mustard. And ketchup, but that didn’t seem fancy enough for the photo ;)

Crunchy Spiced Sweet Potato Fries

Recipe by me

4 small sweet potatoes

1 egg white

3/4 cup whole wheat bread crumbs (you can use regular bread crumbs)

2 teaspoons of paprika

1 teaspoon italian spices (or use a combination of your favorites. Rosemary would be great)

large pinch of salt

large pinch of black pepper

Preheat oven at 400°

Wash and dry your sweet potatoes. You can peel them if you want but I like them with the peel on. Cut them into fries. Not too thick or too thin. Grease a baking sheet with olive oil.

Whip the egg white in a large bowl until very soft peaks form. Combine the crumbs with the salt, pepper, paprika and spices in another bowl.

Now, deep your fries in the egg white and them in the crumbs until is coated. Place on the baking sheet. Continue until all fries are covered. Do not over crowd the fries in the baking sheet or they will not crisp up properly. Bake for 20-30 minutes until brown and crispy on the outside.

I Love the soft inside. And don’t add too much salt! I made that mistake and the first batch was almost inedible. You can always add more later.

Have a lovely saturday! and listen to some Linkin Park maybe? I secretly love metal ;)

