Mmm…this is amazing. This tasted like nothing I have ever tried before. Sweet, salty, spicy, creamy and it goes with SO many things. I’m still thinking of a dessert to use it in, but it’ll be something incredible, I promise. This is nothing short of it. And you know? It took me minutes to make. Honey, Rosemary and Balsamic Pumpkin Butter. Oh how much I love long fancy names for food. Is a lovely twist on the classic pumpkin butter and if you try it, you wont be disappointed.

The inspiration came from a lot of things. First, How Sweet It Is and her lovely Vanilla Bourbon Baked Acorn Squash. She used balsamic in there too and I thought it was simply genius. But I didn’t have any *gasp* butter (by the way, I finally convinced my mom to buy it in bulk!) so I had to do it in another way. Then I remembered someone making pumpkin gnocchi with brown butter and rosemary. Without the butter I had the balsamic and rosemary. And who hasn’t heard of Lemon cookies with honey and rosemary? There I had it. Honey, Balsamic and Rosemary.

I made my own pumpkin pure but you can make this with canned pumpkin and save even more time! Custom with your own spices and add more honey if you feel it needs more sweetness. Have fun with it. You know what? this goes wonderfully with soft cream cheese in whole wheat cracker. Mmm…I’ll be right back…

Honey, Rosemary & Balsamic Pumpkin Butter

Recipe by me

3 small pumpkins (or 1 29 oz can of pure pumpkin puree)

1/2 cup of honey

1/4 cup of balsamic vinegar

1/2 tablespoon of very finely chopped rosemary

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

2 teaspoons of all spice

large pinch of salt

From Scratch:

Halve the  pumpkins, scoop out the seeds and set them aside to make roasted pumpkin seeds. Discard the strings.  Cut side up on a  baking sheet, greased with olive oil. Bake in a 375°F oven for about 45 minutes. Remove from oven, scoop out flesh and puree in food processor or blender (there should be about 2 cups). My pumpkins for some reason weren’t particularly watery, so I let them like that. If you want, you can drain the excess water in a cheese cloth.

Now throw the canned or homemade pumpkin pure and the rest of the ingredients in a medium saucepan over medium heat and stir very well. Cook for about 15 minutes, stirring every once in a while. You don’t want it to stick o the bottom and burn. When is thick enough (like applesauce) take it off the heat, stir a few more times to cool and transfer to bowl or jar you can keep in the fridge. It keeps very well for a couple of weeks.

Oh, and I topped it with some spiced toasted pumpkin seeds.

And this song…Elegy  by Inspection 12. It might be a bit heavy for some, but I love how is softcore and a little hardcore at the same time.

Enjoy all your lovely pumpkin recipes!